Ep6: Writing 101, Day Four: The Serial Killer

Writing 101 is an initiative that encourages new and seasoned bloggers to improve their writing and blogging habits and encourage them to write everyday. I haven’t published days 1 through 3 for various reasons (mostly because I thought whatever I wrote was uninteresting). Today’s assignment goes as follows: “Today, write about a loss. The twist: make this the first post in a three-post series.”

The town square has always been the main source of entertainment for the inhabitants of Lutetia. It’s the primary past-time for young and old to go to “Lucius’ Wares” or “Silks of Alexandria” and spend a few hours there, before moving on to go one of the city’s luxurious baths, attend the city forum, or attend a theatrical performance or a gladiator fight at the Lutetia arenas. Not being a huge fan of “the outside”, I always took the opportunity when going there to check for any off-duty legionary that would hang out near the forums and tell us war tales against the Gauls and the other barbarians our Empire civilises every day. Although I would usually refuse an offer to go window shopping with my family, these outings sometimes included a family meal in one of the fancier places of the city, an offer which I simply couldn’t refuse.

After a sumptuous meal of fried fish and roasted geese, my parents decided it was time for the obligatory tour of every store in the town square to begin. After entrusting my V-year-old brother to me, they took off, my mother leading the charge and my father following her half-heartedly. While he was bound by the shackles of marriage to follow her every move, I was free to roam the town square until they were done, as long as I kept an eye on brother. I could already make out the silhouette of an army man surrounded by admirers at the far end of the square as soon as my parents disappeared from my sight, and I immediately grabbed Celsus’ hand and rushed towards him.

To my utter delight, this one was a really talkative one. “The Gauls are truly a vicious people. I still remember seeing, with my own eyes, a horde of them invade an empty village we set up as a bait, and raze it in less then two hours. However, thanks to our invincible army’s prowess, we routed them with ease. Their primitive ways was no match for our advanced technology, and our unwavering faith in our emperor. Young man, what’s your name?”

“Me? Ennius, mister!” I responded, barely able to hide my surprise and bewilderment.

“Ennius, it is young Romans such as yourself that are helping our mighty empire grow stronger and larger everyday.”

I was entirely engrossed in the legionary’s stories for fifteen minutes that felt like a few seconds.

“…and just like that, my squad and I broke the door down and pierced the fiend with all our strength and saved the little boy and his mother from their filthy clutches.”

Somehow, this part of the story reminded me of Celsus, and I tightened my grip to make sure he was still at the other end, holding my hand, but I was only grabbing air. My face turned pale and my stomach lurched. I swung my head behind me and suddenly realised he was not there any more. My V-year-old brother was lost in the middle of Gaul’s largest city, and it was my fault. Stricken with panic and fear, I immediately began shouting his name “Celsus! Where are you? Celsus!

 

This is part 1/3

Leave a Reply

